

D&AD 2008 design juries announced

LONDON: Members of seven design juries for the D&AD Awards 2008 were announced yesterday, Monday, 29 October 2007. Due to its size, Graphic Design will once again be split into three juries, headed by Tony Brook of Spin, Aziz Kami of Kantar Group, and Adrian Shaughnessy of Shaughnessy Works.

"Having been asked by D&AD to be a foreman in the Graphic Design section of this year's Annual, my excitement is mingled with a sense of responsibility,' said Brook, creative director at Spin. "Sitting in judgment of so many hopes is heavy stuff. Like a cub scout, I promise to do my best."

The other juries announced yesterday include:

- Book Design: foreman Irma Boom
- Branding: foreman Michael Johnson, johnson banks
- Magazine and Newspaper Design: foreman Terry Jones, i-D Magazine
- Packaging Design: foreman Phil Carter, Carter Tomlin Wong
- Typography: foreman Vince Frost, Frost Design
- · Writing for Design: foreman Howard Fletcher

Other juries will be announced in the coming days. The entry deadline is 16 January 2008. Entries before 14 November will receive a 10% discount. Go to www.dandad.org for more information.

Category	Name	Job Title	Company	Nation	Foreman
Book Design	Irma Boom	Book Designer	Irma Boom	Netherlands	Yes
Book Design	Phil Baines	Lecturer-Graphics	Central Saint Martins College of Art and Design	UK	
Book Design	Gareth Howat	Creative Director	Hat-trick Design Consultants	UK	
Book Design	Nick Bell	Director	Nick Bell Design	UK	
Book Design	Amanda Renshaw	Publisher	Phaidon Press	UK	
Book Design	Chip Kidd	Graphic Designer		USA	
Branding	Michael Johnson	Creative Director	Johnson Banks	UK	Yes
Branding	Steff Geissbuhler	Partner	C&G Partners LLC	USA	
Branding	Peter Hale	Director/Creative	GBH	UK	
Branding	Richard Hsu		H Plus	China	
Branding	Gareth Davies	Creative Director	Pentland Group	UK	
Branding	Nikki Gonnissen	Creative Director	Thonik	Netherlands	
Branding	Barbro Ohlson Smith	Creative Director	Ohlsonsmith	Sweden	
Graphic Design 1	Tony Brook	Creative Director	Spin	UK	Yes
Graphic Design 1	Kevin Finn	Director	Finn Creative	Australia	
Graphic Design 1	Sigi Mayer	Creative Director	Orange	Austria	
Graphic Design 1	Morag Myerscough	Senior Director	Studio Myerscough	UK	
Graphic Design 1	Jack Renwick	Creative Director	The Partners	UK	

Graphic Design 1	Mark Denton	Creative Director	Therapy Films	UK	
Graphic Design 1	Matt Pyke		Universal Everything	UK	
Graphic Design 2	Aziz Cami	Creative Director	Kantar Group	UK	Yes
Graphic Design 2	Katherina Tudball	Designer	Johnson Banks	UK	
Graphic Design 2	Domenic Lippa	Design Director	Pentagram Design	UK	
Graphic Design 2	Ady Bibby	Creative Director	True North	UK	
Graphic Design 2	Theseus Chan	Creative Director	Work	Singapore	
Graphic Design 2	Alan Dye	Designer		UK	
Graphic Design 3	Philippe Apeloig	Graphic Designer	Apeloig Design	France	Yes
Graphic Design 3	Ben Parker	Director / Partner	Made Thought	UK	Yes
Graphic Design 3	Adrian Shaughnessy	Art Director/Writer/Consultant		UK	Yes
Graphic Design 3	Michael C Place	Graphic Designer	Build	UK	
Graphic Design 3	Erik Torstensson	Art Director	Saturday London	UK	
Graphic Design 3	Emma Slater	Senior Designer	Williams Murray Hamm	UK	
Magazine & Newspaper Design	Terry Jones	Editor & Chief Creative Director	i-D Magazine	UK	Yes
Magazine & Newspaper Design	Paul Cohen	Art Director	Draft Magazine	UK	
Magazine & Newspaper Design	Janet Froelich	Art Director	New York Times	USA	
Magazine & Newspaper Design	Kevin Bayliss	Art Director	The Independent	UK	
Packaging Design	Philip Carter	Creative Director	Carter Wong Tomlin	UK	Yes
Packaging Design	Roy Poh	Creative Director	Kinetic Design and Advertising	Singapore	
Packaging Design	Jack Gardner	Creative Director	Room 7 Advertising + Design	UK	
Packaging Design	Steve Sandstrom	Design Director	Sandstrom Design	USA	
Packaging Design	Ryan Wills	Art Director	Taxi Studio	UK	
Packaging Design	Gareth Beeson	Designer		UK	
Гуродгарһу	Vince Frost	Creative Director / CEO	Frost Design (Sydney Studio)	Australia	Yes
Typography	David Wakefield	Typographer	23 Press	UK	
Typography	Mason Wells	Creative Director	Bibliothèque Design	UK	
Туроgraphy	Graham Clifford	Design Director	Graham Clifford Design	USA	
Typography	Marian Bantjes	Designer	Marian Bantjes	Canada	
Typography	Lucienne Roberts		Sans&Baum	UK	
Writing for Design	Howard Fletcher	Writer		UK	Yes
Writing for Design	Michael Evamy	Writer	Michael Evamy	UK	
		_	<u> </u>		
Writing for Design	Richard Murray	Director	Williams Murray Hamm	UK	

For more, visit: https://www.bizcommunity.com