

Standard Bank Sikuvile Journalism Awards open

Entries to the Standard Bank Sikuvile Journalism Awards 2016 opened on 18 March. The Awards, a highlight on the newspaper calendar, will take place on 28 July this year. The closing date for entries is Friday, 22 April 2016.



The Awards are hosted by Print and Digital Media South Africa (PDMSA), an umbrella body incorporating print and digital media, and sponsored by Standard Bank.

Despite the increasing difficult circumstances that newspapers are facing, every year the Awards deliver great quality journalism, with innovatively told stories. Last year there was a growth of the entries in the multi-platform was accompanied by an increase in the quality of these entries and it is forecast that this category will grow even more this year.

Last year's winners include Journalist of the year Mia Malan of the *Mail & Guardian* (M&G), Journalist of the year and Young Journalist of the year went to Jay Caboz.

This year the Awards are also opened to non-PDMSA members. The fee per entry is R550.00 a slight increase on last year.

The judging panel, headed by convener judge, Paula Fray, comprises highly respected experts in the industry.

Judges

- Paula Fray (Convener Judge)
- David Wightman
- Dinnesh Balliah
- Gus Silber

- Henry Jeffreys
- Elizabeth Barratt
- Lizeka Mda
- Mike Siluma
- Tyrone August
- Angela Quintal
- Mathatha Tsedu
- Zubeida Jaffer
- Pippa Green
- Tim du Plessis
- Neo Ntsoma
- Liesl Louw-Vaudram
- Thabo Leshilo

For more, visit: https://www.bizcommunity.com