## 🗱 BIZCOMMUNITY

## **CIT:Y selects nominees for annual award**

The 2011 <u>CIT:Y Festival</u> and Awards has selected its nominees for the awards function at Museum Africa in Newtown on 24 August 2011, which will also open to the public its curated exhibition of works submitted by the students from 25 August to 30 September.

## Nominees

- Animation: Eric Barnfather (3rd year, AFDA), Matthew Levings (3rd year, University of the Witwatersrand), Nadine Botha (3rd year, AFDA) and Thapelo Keetile (4th year, University of Johannesburg)
- Broadcast: Still to be announced
- Dance: Charity Sehlapelo (1st year, Moving into Dance Mophatong), Maleshwane Mohoasi (1st year, Vuyani Dance Theatre), Nhlanhla Ndzimande (1st year, Moving into Dance Mophatong) and Thuso Lobeko (1st year, Moving into Dance Mophatong)
- Graphic design: Iris Raphalalani (foundation course, Greenside Design Centre), Melusi Mlauza (3rd year, NEMISA), Teague Wyngaard (foundation course, Greenside Design Centre), Teboho Mofokeng (1st year, Greenside Design Centre) and Wandile Motha (foundation course, Greenside Design Centre)
- Music: Litha Bam (1st year, Damelin Bramley), Miseka Gaqa (foundation course, University of the Witwatersrand) and Sindisiwe Sibiya (2nd year, Central Johannesburg College)
- Photography: Hemisha Bhana (3rd year, University of the Witwatersrand), Lucy Turpin (intermediate course, Market Photo Workshop), Matthew Kay (intermediate course, Market Photo Workshop) and Thabiso Sekgala (fellowship student, Market Photo Workshop)
- Textile design: Christopher Mdlane (4th year incubator, Imbali Visual Literacy Project), Daniel Mwale (3rd year, Imbali Visual Literacy Project), Masetho Mohohlo (4th year incubator, Imbali Visual Literacy Project) and Thato Sekhoto (4th year incubator, Imbali Visual Literacy Project)
- Visual arts: Errol Manota (2nd year, Artist Proof Studio), Minenkhulu Ngoyi (3rd year, Artist Proof Studio), Motlatjo Mabeba (3rd year, University of the Witwatersrand) and Phumulani Ntuli (4th year, University of Johannesburg)

As part of this annual initiative by the City of Joburg's Community Development: Arts, Culture and Heritage Directorate, entrants stand to win a bursary of R20 000. A career bursary for R30 000 will also be awarded to a final year student who will be pursuing a career in the arts.

Go to www.joburg.org.za/culture/ for more details.





Maleshw ane Mohoasi (1st year, Vuyani Dance Theatre)



Christopher Mblane (4th year incubator, Imbali Visual Literacy Project) <u>click to enlarge</u>