

New ministers and their portfolios

Jacob Zuma has announced the creation of new ministries in a bid to transform the economy and to restore the confidence of foreign investors in the country.



(Image: GCIS)

Announcing his new cabinet at the Government Communication and Information System (GCIS) offices on Sunday evening, President Jacob Zuma also announced new faces that will form part of his 35-member cabinet, which means he added one more minister into his executive.

President Zuma told journalists that businessman and ANC Deputy President Cyril Ramaphosa would replace Kgalema Motlanthe as Deputy President of the Republic.

The National Planning Commission and the Performance, Monitoring and Evaluation Ministries in the Presidency have been merged into one department, which will be headed by Minister Jeff Radebe, who will move from the then Justice and Constitutional Development Ministry.

In another big announcement of the evening, President Zuma said Deputy Finance Minister Nhlanhla Nene would be promoted to be the Finance Minister, replacing Minister Pravin Gordhan, who was moved to head the Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs portfolio.

Minister Nene, who before being appointed deputy minister was the chairperson of Parliament's Portfolio Committee on Finance for a number of years, becomes the first black Minister in this position.

His wealth of experience and track record is set to ensure continuity and restore confidence in a portfolio that is key to the country's economy.

The New Executive is as follows:

Ministers

- The Minister in the Presidency is Jeff Radebe.
- The Minister of Women in the Presidency is Susan Shabangu.
- The Minister of Justice and Correctional Services is Michael Masutha.
- The Minister of Public Service and Administration is Collins Chabane.
- The Minister of Defence and Military Veterans is Nosiviwe Mapisa-Ngakula.
- The Minister of Home Affairs is Malusi Gigaba.
- The Minister of Environmental Affairs is Edna Molewa.
- The Minister of State Security is David Mahlobo.
- The Minister of Telecommunications and Postal Services is Dr Siyabonga Cwele.
- The Minister of Police is Nkosinathi Nhleko.
- The Minister of Trade and Industry is Dr Rob Davies.
- The Minister of Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries is Senzeni Zokwana.
- The Minister of Water and Sanitation is Nomvula Mokonyane.
- The Minister of Basic Education is Angie Motshekga.
- The Minister of Health is Dr Aaron Motsoaledi.
- The Minister of International Relations and Cooperation is Maite Nkoana-Mashabane.
- The Minister of Rural Development and Land Reform is Gugile Nkwinti.
- The Minister of Higher Education and Training is Dr Bonginkosi "Blade" Nzimande.
- The Minister of Economic Development is Ebrahim Patel.
- The Minister of Transport is Dipuo Peters.
- The Minister of Mineral Resources is Adv Ngoako Ramathlodi.
- The Minister of Social Development is Bathabile Dlamini.
- The Minister of Public Enterprises is Lyn Brown.
- The Minister of Sport and Recreation is Fikile Mbalula.
- The Minister of Labour is Mildred Oliphant.
- The Minister of Arts and Culture is Nathi Mthethwa.
- The Minister of Public Works is Thulas Nxesi.
- The Minister of Small Business Development is Lindiwe Zulu.
- The Minister of Energy is Tina Joemat-Peterssen.
- The Minister of Science and Technology is Naledi Pandor.
- The Minister of Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs is Pravin Gordhan.
- The Minister of Communications is Faith Muthambi.
- The Minister of Human Settlements is Lindiwe Sisulu.
- The Minister of Tourism is Derek Hanekom.

For more, visit: https://www.bizcommunity.com